The Kemphanen goes International

As we informed you last week, some of our Kemphanen took the plane to join their national team.

Lyle Foster did not appear in action with South Africa as he suffered some groin problems. Therefore, Belgian national coach Hugo Broos decided not to include him in the matchday squad.

Nicolas Madsen was selected for the Danish U21, they lost 2-1 in Croatia and Nicolas was on the bench for 90 minutes.

Dorgeles Nene also warmed his seat for an entire match. The Eagles of Mali played a friendly against Zambia, which they won 1-0, but so Nene did not come off the bench either.

Ravil Tagir initially got a call-up to join Turkey’s U21 side, but he was allowed – due to captain Caglar Soyuncu’s injury in the match against Luxembourg – to sign up with Turkey’s big boys who had to play their second match in the C Pool of the Nations League against Faroe Islands. The Turks lost that match 2-1 and Ravil also remained glued to the bench throughout the match.

The only one who did not have to take a plane was Maxim De Cuyper. He was the only one of our handful of internationals to get playing time with the U21 from Belgium. In the first game, he was allowed to stand in for 45 minutes in the lost match against the Netherlands (1-2). A few days later, he was allowed to start in the match against France (2-2), and was substituted after 45 minutes.

Our Max received praise after that first match. It was national coach Jacky Mathijssen who said the following about him: “He did an excellent job”. “Three years ago I had already called him up once with the U19, but back then his body was not ready for the international level. Today he has grown on, although he could still add about five kilos. His debut was good: he dares to play along, has excellent passing forward and chooses his runs well. Together with Doku, our left flank was just top after the break.”



Team Pnt
KRC Genk 46
Union 36
Antwerp 35
Club Brugge 33
KAA Gent 30
KVC Westerlo 26
Standard 25
OH Leuven 25
Cercle Brugge 25
Anderlecht 20
Charleroi 19
KV Mechelen 18
KV Oostende 17
KAS Eupen 16
Zulte Waregem 13
KV Kortrijk 12
RFC Seraing 11