RWDM: Did you know that?

After a painful defeat last Saturday in ’t Kuipje, our kemphanen descend on Friday to the Edmond Machtens stadium of cult club RWDM. We would like to give you some remarkable facts and facts.

Did you know that?

The current name of the RWDM stadium refers to former mayor of Molenbeek Edmond Machtens? Between 1939 and 1973 the stadium was named Oscar Bossaert. Oscar Bossaert was a former top player of Daring. At the time, the inauguration of the stadium took place in a gala match against Real Madrid. With 13 victories in the Champions League in the meantime, he was a superpower!

Did you know that?

There are currently 3 ex-kemphanen in the squad of RWDM? Gilles Ruyssen wore the yellow-blue colours between 2014 and 2017. In 35 duels he scored once for our club as central defender. Ex-Captain Nicolas Rommens has also been defending the red-and-black colours with number 94 (referring to his year of birth) since this season. Rommens was good for no less than 102 matches at our club. As the last and most recent player, Bryan Van Den Bogaert also opted for a move towards the people of Brussels. As a regular base player last season, Van Den Bogaert did not score but delivered 5 assists for our kemphanen.

Did you know that?

If history repeats itself, we almost have a certainty on 3 points? If we go up all the confrontations against RWDM we will see no less than 14 victories out of 16 matches! With a goal balance of 34 goals for and only 7 against, our kemphanen were always good with a shot against the people of Brussels. In the biggest victory the result was 7-2. Westel was even twice behind by 2 goals from Gorius. After 9 minutes it was already 2-2 in ’t Kuipje! After that it was Bart Van den Eede, Dieter Dekelver and Nabil Dirar, among others, who found their way to the nets.



Team Pnt
Antwerp 27
KRC Genk 25
Club Brugge 22
Union 19
OH Leuven 17
Standard 16
KVC Westerlo 15
Charleroi 15
KAA Gent 14
Anderlecht 13
KV Mechelen 11
KV Oostende 10
KV Kortrijk 10
KAS Eupen 9
RFC Seraing 9
Cercle Brugge 9
Zulte Waregem 5