Reaction to the decision of the general meeting Pro League

Westerlo took note of the decision of the general meeting of the Pro League of 31 July 2020.

To her surprise, the general meeting decided to introduce a radical new competition format for 1A and to further erode the division 1B, and this at barely a week from the start of the competition for the 2020-2021 season. As is unfortunately often the case, lobbying on the day of the board of directors and the general meeting resulted in yet another ill-considered ad hoc decision that not only went against the recommendation of the management of the Pro League and the (numerous) legal advisors of the Pro League and the KBVB, but is also manifestly illegal according to Westerlo.

Our shareholder has made enormous efforts for the club in the short term.

Following the discontinuation of the competition, our club has always taken a constructive stance, in the interests of Belgian football, and has repeatedly communicated its position to the Pro League and the KBVB, so that our club could be duly taken into account. However, Westerlo was completely ignored.
When the club was wrongfully relegated to 1B at the time, it decided – albeit under heavy pressure from the Pro League – not to take any further action. This latest injustice is too much for Westerlo and its shareholder and forces the club to take further legal action.

Westerlo has no choice but to sue the KBVB and the Pro League in summary proceedings. Westerlo will ask the interlocutory judge to be added to Section 1A, to suspend at least the start of the 2020-2021 competition and not to implement the 2020-2021 competition calendar pending a new, lawful decision or the outcome of the proceedings on the merits to be initiated by KVC Westerlo.

Westerlo has made its grievances known to the Pro League in parallel and is open to mediation in accordance with the articles of association of the Pro League.



Team Pnt
KRC Genk 46
Union 36
Antwerp 35
Club Brugge 33
KAA Gent 30
KVC Westerlo 26
Standard 25
OH Leuven 25
Cercle Brugge 25
Anderlecht 20
Charleroi 19
KV Mechelen 18
KV Oostende 17
KAS Eupen 16
Zulte Waregem 13
KV Kortrijk 12
RFC Seraing 11