Preview KVC Westerlo – RWDM

Tomorrow’s match will be all about the well-deserved celebration of champions. The clash between the numbers 1 and 2 of the season. That it will be a party is a given, and hopefully we can end this season on a high note and keep the three points at home.

Team KVC Westerlo

Coach Jonas De Roeck selected 20 names for this last game of the season. In that core are 3 goalkeepers: Jensen, Van Langendonck and Van Hout and 17 field players: Seydoux, Jordanov, Soumah, Perdichizzi, Neustädter, De Cuyper, Van Eenoo, Güctekin, Paulet, Van Den Keybus, Fixelles, Persyn, Vetokele, Vaesen, Bernat, Foster and Daci.

For goalkeeper David Jensen, this is the second title of his career, after he did it once before with FC Nordsjaelland, a club from his homeland Denmark. Dave can – if he had to keep the zero against RWDM – improve his season record of clean-sheets. Currently, he stands at ten – just like in 2016-2017 when he achieved the same number with Dutch club FC Utrecht. Koen Van Langendonck is the only survivor from the previous championship win in 2014 and an important figure in the cohesion of the group. Kristof Van Hout had a taste of promotion to the highest division in 2008 with KV Kortrijk. After winning 2 cup finals, in 2011 and 2013, this is the second title in his career for our U23 coach as well. What about Edi(sson) Jordanov? The fresh-faced Bulgarian international has now finished in first place with his team for 5 years in a row. In 2017, 18 and 19 with Dudelange, in 20 with Virton, in 21 with Union and now with our Kemphans. Christoffer Remmer, Mamoutou N’Diaye, Tuur Dierckx, Igor Vetokele, Léo Seydoux, Rubin Seigers, Thomas Van Den Keybus and Maxim De Cuyper also had a taste of a championship once, but for the last four it’s the first time as a base player.

Some things are not clear yet. Who will be our top scorer, our best assistant and last-but-not least who will be the Rooster of the season. For the top scorer, Erdon Daci is in the lead with 10 goals. Last week he finally scored his liberating tenth goal after a long wait. The only one who can really threaten him is Jan Bernat. He is on 8. The rest will have to have an exceptionally good day to knock Erdon off the top spot. Youth product Kyan Vaesen leads in most assists. He has 8 assists to his name. Here the first pursuer is Lukas Van Eenoo. Four players were nominated to be Kemphaan of the season. De Cuyper, Van Eenoo, Foster and Van Den Keybus may fight it out amongst themselves. Around midnight we will know the result.

Team RWDM

It will be a matter of guessing which team the people of Brussels will bring to the pitch. They will play the barrage games against Seraing to decide who will go up and who will go down. Will coach Euvrard rest some of the regulars, to avoid unnecessary injuries, or will he choose the type of team to see where his team stands. One man will certainly not be among them, and that is midfielder Gécé, who is on the line with five yellow cards. Four other players have to watch out for a yellow suspension and I think they will not be there either: El Ouahdi, Mata, Sankhon and Keita.

Goalkeeper Defourny currently leads the league with most clean sheets, as he has 11. Kévin Mayingila N’Zuzi Mata is the club’s top marksman with 6 and ex-Kemphaan Nicolas Rommens is the best assistant of the club and of the series with 9. For those who don’t know 1B very well: the little brother of Eden and Thorgan Hazard also plays here and scored his first 2 goals last week.

Team against Waasland Beveren (2-1 victory): Defourny, Sakhon, Kurdic, Libert, Vorogovskiy, Gécé, Claes, Hazard, Ephestion, Nangis and De Camargo.

Head-to-head

20.08.21 0-0

09.04.21 2-2 ⚽️ Çiçek, Keita

09.11.20 3-0 ⚽️ 2x Brüls, Van Eenoo

Referee

The 43-year old Waaslander Christof Dierick will soon start his 290th game. It will also be the last game of his professional career. He drew 1200 yellow cards, 44 yellow/red cards, gave 46 direct exclusions and whistled 131 penalty kicks.

He will visit Het Kuipje for the eleventh time. Only once we lost with him: in 2012, KV Mechelen won 1-3 . Nice detail: assistant coach Bart Goor was in the team then and also scored the tying goal.

Text and statistics: Peter Boons

Preview KVC Westerlo – RWDM

Preview RWDM

Playing champion in your seat. It is something special. The party that started afterwards was idem ditto. And now we can finally say it: it was well deserved. Coach Jonas De Roeck and his team turned our Kemphans into a fighting and playing team where every individual was important. What remains now are meetings at Mouscron and the apotheosis at Kuipje against RWDM.

Team KVC Westerlo

Alea Iacta Est, 2 playing days before the end of the regular league, the league has fallen into the final fold. Our Kemphans can go back to playing against the big boys within 3 months. For 5 years, we have been in that terribly difficult league of 1B. As a result, we are hardened and armed. We don’t want to go through this again. Our owner’s goal has also been achieved. To become champions within three years was the assignment he gave when he took control of the club. He made sure that our club took a professional step forward every day and look at the result. We dit it! Together we achieved this goal. That is also the strength of our club. The family character has remained, as has the sympathetic image towards the rest of Belgium. Because everyone loves Westerlo.

If we summarise the season, we see mainly 12 names in the core that usually started in the base. Dave, Edi, Rubin, Pietro, Mabea, Thomas, Lukas, Maxim, Jan, Kyan, Lyle and Erdon did so in 17 or more games. Edi and Mabea will not be there this time. The former is on yellow suspension, Mabea is serving the first of his 3 penalty days. Nine players also played at least once: Koen, Léo, Noël, Guy-Serge, Christoffer, Özi, Mathias, Igor and Tuur. 5 players only got playing minutes during a substitution: Fernand, Tibo, Lorenzo, Simon and Mamoutou and 6 players are still waiting for their first playing minutes: Kristof, Roman, Trésor, Wally, Pieter and Jitse. No matter how many matches and playing minutes everyone ended up with, one thing was important: the group mentality of all 32 core players was the basis of the success.

Team RWDM

When they received the verdict last year that they had to play a series lower, the ambition of the Hainauts was to go back to the highest division as soon as possible. Let us quote a famous “corona” statement of one of our ministers: we know that! We know that you want to return as soon as possible, but we also know that it is oh so difficult. Because make no mistake: 1B football is more difficult than 1A football. There, it is play-offs every week. 8 teams that have only one goal: to become champions! Coach and ex-Red Devil Enzo Scifo has experienced it personally. After a few days of play-offs, he had to step down. In his wake, sports director and also ex-Red Devil Mbo Mpenza had to leave the team. “We stayed below expectations, but we didn’t have the time to build something up,” was their explanation. Now the man who took over, José Jeunechamps, did. Not a big name, but an expert in the field. As assistant coach of Seraing, Standard, Metz, Charlton, Cercle Brugge, OH Leuven and Antwerp. In thirteen league matches, he lost only three times. Twice against De Kemphanen and against RWDM. Just against the 2 top teams in our league. However, the last 2 matches – when they were certain of an extended stay in 1B – were also lost. At home against Deinze and at Virton.

Formation Virton: Gillekens, Duplus, Angiulli, Taravel, Myny, Bakic, Diandy, Mohamed, Carcela, Tainmont and Chevalier.

Captain is Dimitri Mohamed, who has already played 246 matches for Les Hurlus. Top marksman is Joachim Carcela-Gonzalez. This is remarkable, as Mehdi’s (Standard) cousin has only started in 11 league games. He currently has 5 goals to his name, 1 more than striker Teddy Chevalier, who has twice as many playing minutes. The latter is the best assistant with 7 goals.

Head-to-head

26.09.21 1-2 ⚽️ Jordanov, Gouré

20.12.16 0-0

27.10.15 2-2 ⚽️ Visnakovs, Aoulad

09.05.15 1-1 ⚽️ Geudens

07.03.15 1-0

Referee

Kevin Debeuckelaere will be in charge of this match.
His statistics with him are as follows:

  • Westerlo: 5x wins – 5x draws and 4 losses
  • 2x we got a penalty kick from him, both Igor Vetokele and Nicolas Rommens managed to
    use it.
  • He handed out 33 yellow cards to a Ruffler.
  • Lukas Van Eenoo, who hardly ever gets yellow cards, got 2 from him last year. Fortunately, this was not in the same match. Lukas’ counter remained at those 2 last year by the way.
  • One player was excluded with 2 yellow cards. It happened to Léo Seydoux last year in a home game against Lommel.
  • Westerlo is the team he met the most times in his career. So this will be his fifteenth appearance against us.

Mouscron came against him only 3 times. Each time it was on a trip. The balance there is neatly divided: 1x win, 1x draw and 1 defeat.

Text and statistics: Peter Boons

RECENT NEWS

RANKING

Team Pnt
RAFC 9
KRC Genk 6
Anderlecht 6
OH Leuven 6
KV Oostende 6
KAA Gent 5
Zulte Waregem 4
Club Brugge 4
Standard 4
KV Kortrijk 4
Union 4
KV Mechelen 3
Charleroi 3
KVC Westerlo 3
KAS Eupen 3
Cercle Brugge 3
STVV 3
RFC Seraing 0

PARTNERS

FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA