Preview Eendracht Aalst – KVC Westerlo

Cup of Belgium, it always remains something special. Often teams do not play with their strongest eleven and see these matches as a compulsory number.

However, this is the shortest route to Europe. This season, you even “only” have to win five (six for our Kemphans) matches to grab that top prize.

The first hurdle to overcome is Eendracht Aalst.

KVC Westerlo

During this international break, we still have to go full steam ahead. Our Kemphans will not field their strongest team. No less than five players have been selected to play with their national team. You will not see Ravil Tagir, Maxim De Cuyper, Nicolas Madsen, Lyle Foster or Dorgeles Nene on the pitch. Surely, these are 4 basic players from Sunday against Charleroi. Add to that our three injured players and then our coach Jonas De Roeck will have to dig deep into the core anyway to get enough players on the bus to Aalst.

Our selection will consist of: the three goalkeepers Sinan Bolat, Nick Gillekens and Koen Van Langendonck, with Nick undoubtedly set to get his first playing minutes in an official game for Westerlo.

At the back, Bryan Reynolds, Rubin Seigers, Pietro Perdichizzi, Kouya Mabea and Edi Jordanov are deployable.

On the central centre strip, these are Lucas Mineiro, Roman Neustädter, Mathias Fixelles and Thomas Van den Keybus.

On the flanks Tuur Dierckx, Halil Akbunar, Nacer Chadli and Muhammed Gumuskaya and deep in the striker Igor Vetokele and Kyan Vaesen.

Eendracht Aalst

Currently, De Ajuinen play in the Second National Amateur of Belgian football. There, after four matches, they are in eighth place with two wins and two losses. They are already playing their fourth game in the Cup this season, having previously eliminated Anzegem (5-1), Mandel United (8-0) and Wezel (2-1).

Our ex-coach Jan Ceulemans ensured Aalst had some highlights in their existence in the early 1990s. In 1994, he won the final round in the then Second Division, allowing them to return to the highest division. What followed was a rollercoaster. The following year they finished in fourth place, played the semi-finals of the Belgian Cup (losing against eventual winner Club Brugge) and were allowed to enter Europe for the first time, with matches against Levski Sofia and AS Roma.In between, a player also won the Golden Shoe, after having played in First Division for only six months. His name: Gilles De Bilde.

Then things went downhill for den Indracht and in 2002 they played their last season in the highest division. They even then had to drop immediately to the Third Division because they could not get their licence.

The current team is managed by Carl De Geyseleer and in the core we see some names that have a (small) past in professional football (First and Second Division)

Central defender Gaël Kakudji played his first and only game in the top division (for FC Antwerp) in 2018 when he was allowed to enter the field in minute 89.

Steve Ryckaert, the other central defender, played 13 games at AFC Tubize in the Second Division.

Samuel Fabris is the man with the most experience. This defensive midfielder came out for Sporting Charleroi (58 games), White Star Brussels (58 games) and Cercle Brugge (9 games).

Left mid Jilke De Coninck was allowed to fill in for Cercle Brugge in seven games in the 13/14 season.

Ben Yagan played in 41 games for OH Leuven, 20 games for KSK Heist and 25 games for KSV Roeselare.

Striker Mitch Dekuyper scored three times for then Second Division side KVV Coxyde in the 15/16 season and Dutch flanker Dylan George was on the payroll of FC Twente (20 games) and Helmond Sport (nine games).

Niels Bossuyt

This 26-year-old referee’s tally stands at 22 matches. Twenty matches in the Second National (including one for Aalst), one match in the First National (the topper Knokke v Liège last September 4) and one match for the Belgian Cup (one from 2 years ago).




Team Pnt
KRC Genk 46
Union 36
Antwerp 35
Club Brugge 33
KAA Gent 30
KVC Westerlo 26
Standard 25
OH Leuven 25
Cercle Brugge 25
Anderlecht 20
Charleroi 19
KV Mechelen 18
KV Oostende 17
KAS Eupen 16
Zulte Waregem 13
KV Kortrijk 12
RFC Seraing 11