Preview Croky Cup KVC Westerlo – KRC Genk

After the fine result in Union – in advance we had signed for one point, in hindsight it was sour – we are again competing against Belgium’s best team: KRC Genk. This time in function of the Cup of Belgium, the so-called Croky Cup. We expect Genk to come with their strongest line-up, what coach De Roeck has in store is a question mark. Through some interesting facts, we will introduce you to the competition that is the shortest route to European football.

Did you know?

  • The first final ever was played between Racing Club Bruxelles and Racing Gand and that it took place in the year 1912.
  • From 1954 most finals were played in the current King Baudouin Stadium.
  • The only exceptions in the years 85-86-87 and 92-93-94 and 95 were.
  • There was then a switch to the stadium of Anderlecht (4x), Standard (1x) and Bruges (2x).
  • There has been a second version of the Cup since 1964, which the winner can take to his club for 11 months.
  • The designation of the Cup was assigned to a sponsor three times. For example, between 1996-2001 it became the Coca-Cola Cup, between 2008-2015 the Cofidis Cup and from 2015 the Croky Cup.
  • The eventual winner qualifies for the preliminary rounds of the UEFA Europa League and the Belgian Super Cup.
  • Our opponents Genk have already reached the final six times, winning five of them.
  • We had our highlight 21 years ago with the final won against Lommel with a goal by the immortal Jef Delen.
  • There are three players in our core who have already won a National Cup.
  • Tuur Dierckx was able to achieve this with Club Brugge in 2015, but stayed on the bench for 90 minutes.
  • Nacer Chadli won the final of the KNVB Cup against Ajax with FC Twente in 2011, then led by Michel Preud’homme.
  • Sinan Bolat won the cup with Turkish top club Galatasaray in 2015 and was on the pitch for 90 minutes at the time.
  • Our likeable Turkish flanker Halil Akbunar turns just 29 on this matchday.

Text and statistics: Peter Boons



Team Pnt
KRC Genk 46
Union 36
Antwerp 35
Club Brugge 33
KAA Gent 30
KVC Westerlo 26
Standard 25
OH Leuven 25
Cercle Brugge 25
Anderlecht 20
Charleroi 19
KV Mechelen 18
KV Oostende 17
KAS Eupen 16
Zulte Waregem 13
KV Kortrijk 12
RFC Seraing 11