Match report Lommel SK – KVC Westerlo

Today we went to the Soeverein Stadium to take on Lommel SK.

KVC Westerlo

Jensen, Seydoux, Mabea, Seigers, Perdichizzi, Van Eenoo, Van den Keybus, Bernat, Vetokele, Daci, Foster

Lommel SK

Fiermarin, Wuytens, Kis, Neven, Henkens, Saito, Sales, Verschueren, Belghali, Thordarson, Vandersmissen,

First Half

In the 5th minute we see the first chance of the match at Lommel. Westerlo had to wait a bit longer for their first chance. Erdon Daci strikes from distance in minute 18, but the shot does not immediately cause danger. Our Kemphans were unable to create any good opportunities in the first half. The passes are often not good enough and the ball does not reach the strikers.

Lommel was clearly the better team in the first half, but did not manage to score either. Westerlo had another chance to open the score in the 40th minute when Jan Bernat sent Lyle Foster into the deep. Foster hit the keeper, however, so we went into the dressing rooms with a 0-0 score.

Second Half

Just after the start of the second half Erdon Daci managed to work the ball into the net. The linesmen, however, saw that Daci was offside and the goal was disallowed. Daci then had another good chance with a cross towards the far post. He was free in front of goal and wanted to tap the ball in, but failed to hit it right. As a result, the ball went just wide and the score remained 0-0.

The second half was characterised by many physical duels that resulted in three yellow cards for both teams. For a long time it looked like the game would end in a scoreless draw, so the points would be shared. In the very last minute, however, Erdon Daci managed to work the 0-1 into the net via his head. This means we take the 3 points back to Westerlo and maintain the gap of 10 points to second place.


Erdon Daci (’92)

Report written by: Jordy Haesen
Photos by: Luc Meynaerts



Team Pnt
KRC Genk 46
Union 36
Antwerp 35
Club Brugge 33
KAA Gent 30
KVC Westerlo 26
Standard 25
OH Leuven 25
Cercle Brugge 25
Anderlecht 20
Charleroi 19
KV Mechelen 18
KV Oostende 17
KAS Eupen 16
Zulte Waregem 13
KV Kortrijk 12
RFC Seraing 11