Match report KVC Westerlo – SB Vitesse

Line-up KVC Westerlo: S. Bolat, B. Reynolds, R. Tagir, R. Neustadter, M. De Cuyper, O. Güctekin, L. Van Eenoo, J. Bernat, T. Dierckx, E. Daci, F. Goure

Today’s second practice match was again scheduled at the training ground in Papendal. This match we play against the local Vitesse, for years a fixed value in the Eredivisie.

The match starts with calm and controlled soccer from both sides. Oguz Güctekin took his chance after eight minutes and reached out from distance but saw his shot go just over the woodwork.

Vitesse then pressed forward a few times and tried to create danger. Yapi was sent into the penalty area via a one-two. Bolat was just a bit quicker with the ball, preventing a chance.

The last fifteen minutes are very quiet. The ball is tapped around but there are no real chances. Just before half time Manhoef breaks through on the left wing, Reynolds puts in a strong sprint and wins the duel to recover the ball.

The players go to rest after a scoreless first 45 minutes.

Second half

After halftime we see two changes to the 11 names at the kickoff. Griffin Yow and Mamoutou N’Diaye take the place of Fernand Gouré and Ravil Tagir.
After a few minutes Daci breaks through towards goal but is caught off guard by Vitesse defender Van Zwam. He was unable to kick in time and the angle was too acute for a well-placed shot.

Just after the hour Leo Seydoux replaced Maxim De Cuyper at left back. After 70 minutes of soccer we still see a dry 0-0 on the scoreboard. Apart from a chance through substitute Griffin Yow, there haven’t really been any opportunities to score a goal.

Occasionally, we see a ball end up in the sixteen meter area, but these almost always end up in the hands of the goalkeepers. 0-0 is the final score, the players go back to the hotel where they will stay for two more nights.



Team Pnt
KRC Genk 46
Union 36
Antwerp 35
Club Brugge 33
KAA Gent 30
KVC Westerlo 26
Standard 25
OH Leuven 25
Cercle Brugge 25
Anderlecht 20
Charleroi 19
KV Mechelen 18
KV Oostende 17
KAS Eupen 16
Zulte Waregem 13
KV Kortrijk 12
RFC Seraing 11