Match report KVC Westerlo – Beerschot

Today the last preparation games were on the programme. Just like the last 3 weeks, there were 2 again. The first game was played behind closed doors against Beerschot, in the afternoon the gala match against AZ is still on the programme.

Beerschot started fastest, resulting in a first shot by Andi Koshi. Just after that, the first chance for Westel would be a draw. Jan Bernat sent Lyle Foster deep and the latter went off alone against goalkeeper Mike Vanhamel. Our South African remained very composed and the ball went into the net for the first time (1-0).

The men from Het Kiel were not daunted by this – in fact, they had the better of the action. This eventually resulted in Baeten equalising, after a poor intervention by our defence (1-1). Koshi and the Bolivian Vaca, together with captain Sanusi, were the rulers in midfield, and they also had chances to tilt the score towards the Beerschot side.

In minute 35 the ball finally went into the net, when Vaca was allowed to connect from far out (1-2). Shortly afterwards, the boards were back in balance. Igor Vetokele was run down and Jan Bernat converted the eleven meter – as he always does – without a problem (2-2).

The second half was marred by a second yellow card in minute 56, when defender Al Hassan fouled Lyle Foster. Lyle could not control himself at that moment and retaliated with a catch. The referee was very lenient on him – giving him only yellow – but our coach decided to let Lyle take an early shower and make it a 10-on-10 game. The visitors then continued to control the game and 10 minutes before the end Vaca was able to put the final score on the board (2-3) with a direct free kick.

KVC Westerlo

Gillekens, Reynolds, N’Diaye, Tagir, Mabea, Fixelles, Güctekin, Akbunar, Bernat, Foster and Vetokele

Beerschot VA

Vanhamel, Quirynen, Konstantopoulos, Al Hasan, Matthys, Weymans, Sanusi, Koshi, Vaca, Shankland and Baeten.


8′ Foster (1-0), 22′ Baeten (1-1), 35′ Vaca (1-2), 36′ Bernat (2-2) and 82′ Vaca (2-3).



Team Pnt
KRC Genk 46
Union 36
Antwerp 35
Club Brugge 33
KAA Gent 30
KVC Westerlo 26
Standard 25
OH Leuven 25
Cercle Brugge 25
Anderlecht 20
Charleroi 19
KV Mechelen 18
KV Oostende 17
KAS Eupen 16
Zulte Waregem 13
KV Kortrijk 12
RFC Seraing 11