Match report KVC Westerlo – KRC Genk (0-1)

Today our boys played against the U21 of KRC Genk. Those who did not travel to Knokke yesterday, were at the start today, complemented by some promising players of coach Van Hout.

Simon Paulet had to cancel his appearance, as he was taken ill just after breakfast. Our 2 recent acquisitions Maxim De Cuyper and Fernand Gouré played their first minutes for the Kemphans.

Throughout the match, we hardly had any chances. It was mainly midfield play, with little danger for the goal on both sides. The only goal of the game would fall just after the hour, a defensive error by Noël Soumah was the cause. Arne Cuypers, who came on as a substitute, took advantage of our central defender’s mistake and neatly kicked the ball wide of our captain David Jensen (0-1).

KVC Westerlo: David Jensen, Matias Lloci, Nader Ghandri, Noël Soumah, Maxim De Cuyper (79′ Buekers), Wally Fofana (79′ Zakaria Tassounte), Lars Neyens, Kobe Lemmens (45′ Kobe Heyns), Lorenzo Noviello (79′ Lucas Thiels), Dimitrije Jovanovic, Halim Kagyan (79′ Fernand Gouré).

KRC Genk: Tobe Leysen, Yentl Van Genechten (62′ Lucas Beerten), Amine Et-Taïbi (62′ Matisse Didden), Wout Coomans, Tuur Rommens (62′ Sam De Grand), Maarten Swerts, Kelvin John Pius (50′ Arne Cuypers), Raf Smekens (62′ Kamiel Van de Perre), Sekou Diawara, Adnane Abid, Faïssal Boujemaoui (62′ Bryan Limbombe).

Goal: 64′ Arne Cuypers (0-1)

Report: Peter Boons

Club Brugge

Senne Lammens, Tibo Persijn (45’ Denzel De Roeve), Ignace Van der Brempt, Noah Mbamba (45’ Lukas Mondele), Federico Ricca, Lynnt Audoor (85’ Mathias Servais), Thomas Van den Keybus, Hans Vanaken, Daniel Pérez (60’ David Okereke), Cisse Sandra, Bas Dost (6°’ Youssouph Badji).


40’ Kyan Vaesen (0-1), 49’ Bas Dost (1-1) en 89’ Thomas Van den Keybus (2-1)

Written by Peter Boons



Team Pnt
KRC Genk 46
Union 36
Antwerp 35
Club Brugge 33
KAA Gent 30
KVC Westerlo 26
Standard 25
OH Leuven 25
Cercle Brugge 25
Anderlecht 20
Charleroi 19
KV Mechelen 18
KV Oostende 17
KAS Eupen 16
Zulte Waregem 13
KV Kortrijk 12
RFC Seraing 11