In 1917, after being chased away from the village square several times as vandals, a few students founded the first football club in Westel’s history. To be able to practice their sport, they ended up on the “Bist”, the place where the current grounds are still located. The students chose the name “De Bist Westerlo”.

In 1922 they moved to the Arthur Sterckxstraat. Here the club stayed for five years until it was closed down. In 1931 “Bist Sport” rises again. Notary Naets makes the terrain on the “Bist” available again. After 3 years the club was renamed as sports club Westerlo. After a big disagreement in the board a part of the team tears itself away and immediately “Westerlo Sport” is born in the Zoerledreef. The mutual village derby’s become legends. The rivalry is fierce but sporty. After the closure of the Kempisch association in 1935 Westerlo joins the B.V.B. Three years later Westerlo is champion for the first time.

Deken Fierens is thoroughly fed up with the mutual rivalry and works out a merger with René Bens on May 1942. René Bens becomes the first chairman of the current KVC Westerlo. Under the basic number, 2024 “den Bist” and “de Dreef” are definitively buried. In the legends, however, they are given eternal life.

At Verbroedering Arendonk in season 1959-1960 the title in 2° Provinciale is obtained.

Now everything goes by a hellish speed. For the first time in promotion in 1968, and barely one year later there is already a festive mood again with the winning of a new championship title and the crossing to third class.

In 1970 they missed out on the third consecutive title after a heroic battle at FC Seraing. But on April 11th comes the sobering. After a serious punishment at Tienen, Westerlo gets a ticket back. Ten years they remain in promotion. Through two successive relegations, 1982 -1983, the once so ambitious Westerlo ends up embarrassingly in 2° provincial.

The resurrection is a fact when Fernand Vermeer breathes new life into the club. From 1984 to 1986, Westerlo went to the third national in a jolt. With names like Jos Heyligen, Julien Cools, Heinz Schönenberger and Stany Gzil, Westerlo rebuilds a reputation in the Kempen region to tell you the truth. After a long period in the third national, we write 1993. After Barry Hulshoff, Erwin Vandenbergh, and Franky Dekenne Jos Heyligen take over the helm again and with success, because after barely a year the promotion via the final round to first national is obtained after a memorable match at SV Waregem.

At the start of the 2000-2001 season, KVC Westerlo was able to taste the Intertoto Cup (Primorje).

In the same season, KVC Westerlo won the Cup against KFC Lommelse SK, in addition to the sporting success in the Jupiler League. The next season 2001-2002 was the first time that KVC Westerlo could participate in the European Competition.

In this UEFA Cup, KVC Westerlo stood in the first round against Hertha Berlin. In the first round KVC Westerlo, despite the bad weather conditions and the events of September 11th, played a nice match, but Hertha Berlin still won. Despite a good return match in the impressive stadium of Hertha Berlin, KVC Westerlo could not qualify for the second round of the UEFA Cup, due to a lack of belief in their own abilities.

KVC Westerlo will match the best performance in the competition of the ’99-’00 season in the ’03-’04 and ’08-’09 seasons. These three seasons the club closes the competition in sixth place. To date, this is still the best result ever achieved by the club. The season ’10-’11 heralds another farmer’s year. That season KVC Westerlo Play-Off 2 wins and they almost repeat the cup stunt of ten years ago. In the final, however, they lose 2-0 to Standard de Liège.

The next year, the club finishes in fifteenth place and relegation to second division cannot be avoided. Two years later, the club manages to win the title in the then Belgacom League after a 1-0 home victory against KAS Eupen, which forced the club to promote to the Jupiler Pro League. In the 2016-2017 season, the club again relegated to the Proximus League. In the 2018-2019 season, the club finished in fourth place in the general classification, securing a place in Play-Off 2. In a group with Beerschot-Wilrijk, Sint-Truiden, Charleroi, Oostende and Eupen, the club finished third.

On 18 June 2019, the club announced that the Turkish businessman Oktay Ercan is the new owner



Team Pnt
Antwerp 27
KRC Genk 22
Club Brugge 19
OH Leuven 17
Standard 16
Union 16
KAA Gent 14
Anderlecht 13
Charleroi 12
KVC Westerlo 12
KV Mechelen 11
KV Oostende 12
KV Kortrijk 7
KAS Eupen 6
RFC Seraing 6
Cercle Brugge 6
Zulte Waregem 5