Did you know? Lommel SK

Also in 2021, our weekly column will be there. Peter Boons will be looking for some fun and remarkable facts about our opponents and our own team.

Did you know?

In 12 meetings between KVC Westerlo and Lommel SK, our team won 8 times? There were also 3 draws and 1 loss. This includes the cup final of 2000-2001. In all these games, Westerlo scored 24 times and our goalie only had to turn over 11 times. Beautiful statistics!

Did you know?

There were no less than 15 players who worked for both teams in the past? The best known players are undoubtedly Daan Heymans, Dieter Dekelver, Arno Verschueren, Wouter Scheelen, Leandro Trossard, Wouter Corstjens, …

But also Frank Machiels, Brandon Deville, Philippe Janssens, Christophe Bertjens, … all played in yellow-blue and green-white during their active career.

The complete list:

Wouter Scheelen
Robin Henkens
Christophe Bertjens
Leandro Trossard
Jarno Molenberghs
Gilles Ruyssen
Jochen Janssen
Frank Machiels
Brandon Deville
Dieter Dekelver
Arno Verschueren
Wouter Corstjens
Daan Heymans
Philippe Janssens
Laurens Paulussen

Lommel SK vetted

The fairly young English coach Liam Manning (35 years) came over last summer from the American club New York City FC, where he was head of training. Before that, he was the (assistant) coach of London club West Ham United for four years. There he was responsible for the breakthrough of Declan Rice, who currently plays for the English national team and is worth about 55 million euros.

Manning is a supporter of the 4-3-3 system. In Lommel, he has created a nice team of 11 players in a relatively short period of time:

In goal he opts for Tomas Svedkauskas. This Lithuanian goalkeeper has become goalkeeper number 1 of his country because of his strong performances.

At the back Glenn Neven has moved from the centre to the right side. Glenn is captain of the team and has donned the Lommel jersey 245 times now.

The rest of the backline is also Belgian. Laurent Lemoine and Stijn Wuytens are in the centre, and on the left is Kevin Kis, who played for the Westel reserve team in the 2010-11 season.

The trio of midfielders is usually populated by 2 more ex-Kemphans, namely Robin Henkens and Arno Verschueren, and for the third person, it’s usually Brazilian Vinicius Souza, who played an impressive game in the first confrontation at the Kuipje, but had to leave the field in the 78th minute with 2 yellow cards, and Icelander Kolbeinn Thordarson.

The attacking flanks are occupied by Marlos Moreno, a Colombian who was allowed to don his country’s jersey eight times in 2016 and played alongside James Rodriguez at the Copa America Centenario, and Anass Zaroury at the other end. Zaroury, who has already scored six times in the current campaign, was recruited by Sporting Charleroi during the winter break, but was immediately loaned out to the Limburg club for six months.

Deep in the striker’s box is Manfred Ugalde. This Costa Rican has already scored 11 times in sixteen games, including a hat-trick in the last game against Deinze. The remarkable thing was that he did this three times with his head. If you know that he is only 1m73 tall, then you know that this was not an everyday occurrence.

In the winter the Japanese striker Koki Saito joined the team. The intention is that he will play deep in the striker’s box, so Ugalde would move to the number 10 position.

The regular substitutes are strikers Johan Attah Kadiri (seven appearances) and Juan Bautista Cejas (six appearances) and Belgian midfielder Milan Troonbeeckx.


Matches played: 9
Wins: 6
Draw: 2
Lost: 1
Goals for: 18
Goals against: 10
Clean sheets: 4
Biggest victory: 3-0
Biggest defeat: 1-4
Average number of goals scored: 2.00
Average number of goals against: 1.11
Average time first goal: 30st minute

Matches played: 9
Wins: 3
Draw: 2
Lost: 4
Goals for: 12
Goals against: 16
Clean sheets: 2
Biggest victory: 3-1
Biggest defeat: 2-4
Average number of goals scored: 1.33
Average number of goals against: 1.78
Average time first goal: 36th minute



Team Pnt
Antwerp 27
KRC Genk 25
Club Brugge 22
Union 19
OH Leuven 17
Standard 16
KVC Westerlo 15
Charleroi 15
KAA Gent 14
Anderlecht 13
KV Mechelen 11
KV Oostende 10
KV Kortrijk 10
KAS Eupen 9
RFC Seraing 9
Cercle Brugge 9
Zulte Waregem 5