All in all, RC Hades didn’t give much resistance, so our kemphanen played a comfortable 5-1 to the next round in the cup without to much effort.

A match with an audience was held on 22 February in the home match against RE Virton. Our whole club was looking forward to the reunion with our loyal fans. Under different circumstances, but there was no lack of atmosphere! KVC Westerlo would also like to thank its supporters for following the guidelines correctly.

About the match then… After a quick start, Lukas Van Eenoo made it 1-0 after just 2 minutes. KVC Westerlo kept up the pace in the early stages and after a few good combinations Ambroise Gboho also scored a goal after 10 minutes. The hunger after the many postponed matches was great.

After a heavy downpour the game also watered down for both teams and there was little threat from either side. In the half hour everything cleared above ’t Kuipje when Matias Lloci served Atabey Cicek who had only the ball to push in. Lloci was in shape, as he also gave the decisive final pass in the 2-0 earlier. It were the first few minutes of the season for the youngster from Ghent.

After the break KVC Westerlo let his opponent get more into the game and the visitors also got some sharp edges. Goalkeeper Berke Ozer was always on the alert and had a few good saves on RC Hades’ goal. After a penalty error by Kader Keita, our goalie did receive his first official goal of the new season.

This was the wake-up call to press the accelerator again. Match winner and debutant Atabey Cicek had understood the message and made it 4-1 and 5-1. We don’t want to remember the 5-1 and you can watch it again at the bottom. With 3 goals, Atabey Cicek had a successful first evening on our Belgian pitches.

Tonight there will be a draw for the 1/16 finals in which we will compete against 1 of the 16 teams that are currently active in 1A!



Team Pnt
KVC Westerlo
Union SG
Club Brugge
RSC Anderlecht
KAA Gent
RSC Charleroi
KV Mechelen
KRC Genk
Cercle Brugge
OH Leuven
KV Oostende
KV Kortrijk
Standard Luik
KAS Eupen
Zulte Waregem
RFC Seraing