Club NXT: Did you know that?

After a satisfying victory against RWDM last Monday, our ruffs are again preparing for an important duel. For the first time this season our kemphanen will compete against the promises of Club NXT. Peter Boons alias the king of facts and statistics, crawled behind his laptop again and went looking for some facts and figures.

Did you know that?

NXT stands for the symbiosis between top sports environment and the lifestyle of youth culture? The main goal of Club NXT and Club Brugge in general is to let young players gain experience at the highest level and thus prepare them for the real thing. It is therefore not surprising that the core has an average age of 18.4 years. The young players from Bruges are led by Rik De Mil. The 39-year-old coach was a goalkeeper but had to end his playing career prematurely due to knee problems. After a few years of KSV Oostkamp, Rik joined the youth of Club Brugge in 2015.

Did you know that?

Three boys from the core have already made playing minutes with the big boys of Philippe Clement? Right behind Ignace Van Der Bempt already played 2 games in the Jupiler Pro League. Good for 101 minutes. Also left back Maxim De Cuyper was lined up in 2 matches resulting in 163 minutes of play. De Cuyper was thrown in front of the lions in the 1/16 finals of the Europa League against Manchester United last season. Club Brugge then played 1-1 against the superpower of the Premier League. Finally, midfielder Thomas Van Den Keybus recently made his debut in the derby against Cercle Brugge. He was given 4 minutes playing time in the final game.

Did you know that?

Club NXT is well represented in our national U19? These are goalkeeper Nick Shinton, central defender Ibe Hautekiet, the aforementioned Van Der Brempt and Van den Keybus and strikers Noah Aelterman and Thibo Baeten. Thibo Baeten may also call himself top marksman of CLUB Nxt with 4 hits at the moment.

Research and facts: Peter Boons
Written by: Ruben Van Elst



Team Pnt
Antwerp 27
KRC Genk 22
Club Brugge 19
OH Leuven 17
Standard 16
Union 16
KAA Gent 14
Anderlecht 13
Charleroi 12
KVC Westerlo 12
KV Mechelen 11
KV Oostende 12
KV Kortrijk 7
KAS Eupen 6
RFC Seraing 6
Cercle Brugge 6
Zulte Waregem 5