Beautiful derby

Today the derby against Lierse Kempenzonen was on the programme. Coach Jonas De Roeck made one change to the starting eleven compared to last week. Noël Soumah starts on the bench so Rubin Seigers is back at centre back. Thomas Van den Keybus starts for the first time in the starting line-up.

Line-up KVC Westerlo: David Jensen, Edisson Jordanov, Pietro Perdichizzi, Rubin Seigers, Kouya Mabea , Lukas Van Eenoo, Thomas Van den Keybus, Jan Bernat (71′ Lyle Foster), Maxim De Cuyper, Tuur Dierckx, Kyan Vaesen (71′ Igor Vetokele)

Line up Lierse Kempenzonen: Jarno De Smet, Pieter De Schrijver, Kenneht Schuermans, Brent Laes, Thibaut Van Acker, Stallone Limbombe, Alexander Maes, Scott Bitsindou, Jordy Gillekens, Hakim Abdallah, Yvan Yagan.

First Half

Westerlo had their first good chance of the game early in the first half. The ball was passed to the far post, but striker Kyan Vaesen could not reach the ball. In the 23rd minute there was another excellent chance to open the scoring. Maxim De Cuyper delivered the ball to Bernat, but again it failed to go in.

In minute 28 it was Lierse Kempenzonen that managed to score. Yvan Yagan gave them their first real chance of the match, and the ball immediately hit the net. With this our Kemphanen also conceded their first goal of the season. A few minutes later the ball hit the arm of a Lierse defender in the penalty area. The referee decided not to award a penalty.

Our Kemphanen went into the break 0-1 down, despite being the better team.

Second Half

The second half had only just started when the referee awarded a penalty to Westerlo. Tuur Dierckx got behind the ball and coolly slotted it in, 1-1. A few minutes later it was back to square one for the Kemphans. Tuur Dierckx passed the ball to Kyan Vaesen, who put it in the net, 2-1.

Westerlo clearly came out of the dressing room very well. In the 61st minute Jan Bernat gets in front of goal. He calmly put the ball into the bottom right corner.

In the 73rd minute Kenneth Schuermans headed Lierse back into the match from a corner, 3-2.


Yvan Yagan (28′)

Tuur Dierckx (49′)

Kyan Vaesen (53′)

Jan Bernat (61′)

Cards Westerlo

Tuur Dierckx

Cards Lierse Kempenzonen

Stallone Limbombe

Alexander Maes

Jordi Liongala

Brent Laes



Team Pnt
KRC Genk 46
Union 36
Antwerp 35
Club Brugge 33
KAA Gent 30
KVC Westerlo 26
Standard 25
OH Leuven 25
Cercle Brugge 25
Anderlecht 20
Charleroi 19
KV Mechelen 18
KV Oostende 17
KAS Eupen 16
Zulte Waregem 13
KV Kortrijk 12
RFC Seraing 11