It promised to be a duel between the 2 great title favourites. Anyone hoping for spectacle was deceived afterwards. Our kemphanen stood strong at the back but were not sufficiently accurate in the sixteen of Union. A tactical joust between both coaches ended in yet another spectacle score.

In a wet rained Joseph Mariën Stadium our kemphanen faced a difficult task. After last week’s fair draw against Lierse, KVC Westerlo almost had to take the bus to the Kempen with a victory.

Coach Bob Peeters surprised everyone and everything by taking Christian Brüls, Kurt Abrahams and Tuur Dierckx out of the basic line-up. In the preparatory interview, our coach said he wanted to see another Westerlo with more commitment and mentality. The club slogan #enallemaalsamen had to resound on the pitch as well!

We can be brief about the first half. A lot of guts and daring on both teams, but no concrete goal opportunities or danger! KVC Westerlo came out threateningly from the left flank a few times with Mabea and Alici, but each time it just didn’t reach a goal. Our ruffs will have to tap from another keg in the second half if they want to take the 3 points out of Brussels today.

No switches at the beginning of the second half and actually sunshine replaced rain. an omen? No, it remained a closed game between two opponents who closed the defensive well and showed a flash at the late offensive, but it didn’t turn into fireworks.

The only commotion we got was when ref Geldhof suddenly put a second yellow cardboard (and therefore red) under Nader Ghandri’s nose. Although not because the whole bank of Union urged him to do so. Coach Bob Peeters was allowed to pay for it with a yellow card and the whole delegation of Westerlo didn’t understand a thing.

With a week’s rest in prospect, our kemphanen have 2 weeks to make sure that on Sunday 13/09 around 8pm the nets vibrate Pairay stadium of RFC Seraing!



Team Pnt
KRC Genk 46
Union 36
Antwerp 35
Club Brugge 33
KAA Gent 30
KVC Westerlo 26
Standard 25
OH Leuven 25
Cercle Brugge 25
Anderlecht 20
Charleroi 19
KV Mechelen 18
KV Oostende 17
KAS Eupen 16
Zulte Waregem 13
KV Kortrijk 12
RFC Seraing 11