Besiktas – KVC Westerlo

Initially, the match quietly rippled back and forth, albeit with slightly more ball possession for the home side, who were loudly encouraged by a large crowd of supporters throughout the full 90 minutes.

Nevertheless, the first chances were for Westerlo. Halil Akbunar kicked a distant cross and Igor Vetokele found the goalpost in his path at the far post. Moments later, on a pass from Maxim De Cuyper, a nice chance for our youngster, Ilias El Hari, but his shot went low wide.
From then on, Westerlo started playing football freely and created the best combinations. A goal was – perhaps rightly – disallowed for offside and just before half time, the home team came at the goal twice, but without much danger.

After half-time, our coach again changed the ten field players, with Koen Van Langendonck coming in at the 60th minute. The home team then started to play more nimble and dominant football, but without much danger, barring two innocent attempts.

Again, the best chances were for Westerlo. A quick counter via Tuur Dierckx and Muhammed Gumuskaya was almost worked into own goal for the onrushing Lyle Foster, and Pietro Perdichizzi’s effort on the ensuing corner was only blocked in extremis. Furthermore, we noted another header from Kyan Vaesen, a shot from Nacer Chadli on the goalkeeper’s fists, and another header, this time from Foster.

The best chance – we are already in minute 81 – was for Vaesen, after interplay between Chadli and Foster, but Kyan placed the ball wide …
And as often happens then, the goal fell on the other side, after a quick Turkish counter: 1 – 0 (88′).

But despite the loss, our team can still look back on a successful match and by extension a brilliant training camp.

Westerlo played with:

1st half: Sinan Bolat, Bryan Reynolds, Ravil Tagir, Rubin Seigers, Maxim De Cuyper, Mathias Fixelles, Nicolas Madsen, Ilias El Hari, Halil Akbunar, Dorgeles Nene and Igor Vetokele.

2nd half: Koen Van Langendonck (after 60′), Edi Jordanov, Roman Neustädter, Pietro Perdichizzi, Kouya Mabea, Lukas Van Eenoo, Muhammed Gümüskaya, Tuur Dierckx, Nacer Chadli, Lyle Foster and Kyan Vaesen.